Date Idea: A Day in the Park

Kris’ Take: Just yesterday Laura and I went to a wonderful park that’s about 45 minutes away. It was a really fun time for the both of us. The day started out with a quick breakfast and then we were off. I know this idea might sound a little cliché, but it’s a great way to break up the monotony of everyday life. We walked around for quite a bit looking at some of the wildlife and we did a lot of talking. I think that’s probably my favorite part about the parks. They are normally such a quiet and tranquil place, and that makes for a great talk. After a while of walking around we drove to find a pavilion and I began grilling food. Laura liked watching me do this because she hasn’t seen many people grill using charcoal, so she enjoyed watching me stack the briquettes. I like cooking for Laura on grills because it’s not very hard but it looks impressive, and to be completely honest I’m no expert on a stove. It allows me to show that I have some cooking skills.

We brought a bit too much to eat and her and I are not fans of wasting food, so we decided to feed some of the local wildlife, but don’t tell the park rangers :-x. There were these two squirrels that were scampering around so I walked towards one slowly, put the sandwich down and slowly backed away. Then Laura and I watched it from a distance. It was adorable; he approached the sandwich and looked at it for a second. Then he picked it up and started nibbling at all of the bread. I suppose he didn’t notice the delicious barbequed pork in the middle. After watching the squirrels for a while, Laura wanted to do some shopping so we hit some of our malls and accomplished very little, but we did manage to find her mother some very charming candle holders that would go perfect on the fireplace mantle! Well, I hope you all have a wonderful day, and remember that even these simple dates can be quite fun. Oh, not to forget, Laura and I intended on flying a kite, but the wind had different plans: To take the day off!

Laura’s Take: The park was such a nice way to spend the day! I really enjoyed the nature walk most of all because it gave us a chance to chat. Plus is was so secluded from the rest of the park that it really felt like we were someplace else, like in a jungle. I wish we had gotten a chance to fly the kite, but I guess we should have checked the weather forecast first. Anyways, glad we got a chance to finally go to the park! And you were quite the cook if I do say so myself!

Hot Tamales rates this idea:

4 out of 5 Hearts
3 Responses to “Date Idea: A Day in the Park”

  1. rosa Says:

    I really love your guys blog! Great stories, wish I could write as good as you! Love this idea, sounds really cute. I wish I had someone who would take me out on a date like this. I look forward to more great date ideas!

  2. Mona Lisa Says:

    I couldn’t agree more with you Rosa! Obviously this Blog has created a great deal of attention and they sshould after all when you write for a Major Newpaper Column you have to be good! So well said, couldn’t have said it better, this is such a refreshing site with great ideas, it always puts a smile on my face……Thanks Hot Tamales!!!!

  3. Hot Tamales Says:

    Kris’ Take: @Rosa – I read the e-mail you sent us and it was a very touching story. You said in the e-mail that I can share the story with our readers if need be so I thought it might be warming if they heard it. Currently Rosa suffers from an illness that has been preventing her from dating successfully. Some side effect of the disorder cause her to look a bit older than she really is, and it causes her hair to fall out. I was very saddend when I read this but touched when I read this part “I not speak English well, but I’m not let this disease keep me from dreams. I’m determine to move in my life and live to the full. I have discover in America something that is fun, and comfort. I enjoy collect Beanie Babies, they bring smiles to my face when I see them. I want to write story like you, and express. I truly hope that I will be able to success like you have had, and wish you the best luck.”

    Rosa, it doesn’t matter how you look on the outside, it’s what’s inside that truly matters. I’m truly greatful that you have found beanie babies to be so inspirational. I know they bring joy to many, and I’m glad they bring joy to you also. You have a truly inspirational story that I hope one day you can write about. I can’t imagine the daily struggles that you go through but please keep us updated! We would love to hear from you again.

    @Mona Lisa – We’re quite flattered about your sweet compliments, thank you. We hope it continues to bring a smile to your face, and keep reading! 🙂


Leave a Reply

